Unboxing: Glamourbox for February 2013

As you might already know, this is my second month with Glamourbox. I posted a quick review of the contents of the January 2013 Glamourbox and I’ll be doing this every month to let you in on what’s inside their monthly box. For the Glamourbox February 2013, if you’d think there are makeup items included in the box, you’ll be disappointed.

Unboxing Glamourbox February 2013 - the contents

That’s exactly how I felt when I saw the contents of this month’s Glamourbox. I guess I had high expectations, so when I quickly went through the contents of their February box, my excitement turned to letdown.

As I carefully checked each item, I kept on reminding myself that the point of my subscription to their beauty box is to try out products I won’t normally buy or be interested in. Considering the amount of products in this box that I won’t actually be using, I wasn’t happy.

The contents of Glamourbox February 2013 box

HOWEVER, let me just say this: your reaction towards the contents of this month’s box may be completely different from mine. Why? Because we differ in needs and preferences. I just don’t find many of the items this month personally useful.

This month’s theme is Romantic Beauty:

Glamourbox February 2013 Theme - Romantic Beauty

I was looking forward to the February box because I really thought the romantic theme of the month will mean we’ll receive at least one makeup item. *sigh* Anyway, without further ado, check out what’s inside this month’s box, starting off with those that I didn’t like:

 

Php 500 Cuzo voucher

You can only enjoy this voucher with a minimum purchase of Php 1,500. I don’t think I’ll be using this since I don’t like buying bags online. The voucher included a business card holder, by the way.

Glamourbox February 2013 - Php 500 voucher from Cuzo

 

35% off Discount Coupon from Wild Peach Cosmetics

This and the Cuzo voucher are add-ons, I believe, since they’re not consistent with the theme of healthy skin and hair. This discount coupon is for your first 2 customizable makeup palettes. Not sure if I’ll use this, but it’s good to find out about Wild Peach Cosmetics.

Glamourbox February 2013 - discount voucher from Wild Peach Cosmetics

 

 

KJI & CO Emergency Lash Rx

This lash serum prevents new virgin hair from being adversely affected by cosmetic and environmental factors. Users will see dramatic improvement in lash volume, texture and density.

I consider myself lacking in lash volume, but I’m not into wearing mascara (unless I’ve got smokey eye makeup on) or fake lashes. This serum promises to give you results in 5 days of use, so it might help me.

Glamourbox February 2013 - KJI & Co Emergency Lash Rx

A little tricky to use – yes, I tried it just for the sake of finding out how it works. 😀 But, I’m not so sure I’ll continue using it as I’m not that concerned with my lashes.

Price: Php 1,350 2ml – We got the full size of the Emergency Lash Rx.

 

Calvin Klein Beauty

Sophisticated, confident and radiant. Beauty evokes the ultimate power of femininity and sophistication. It captures the spirit of a woman who is beautiful from the inside out, with an aura that radiates.

I was looking forward to perfume samples, so this was the first thing in the box that I tried. Not a big fan of its floral scent. However, after a couple of minutes, the scent turned out to be slightly tolerable. I had my bro smell the scent and he didn’t like it. So, I don’t see myself buying this.

Glamourbox February 2013 - Calvin Klein Beauty perfume sample

Price: Full size Php 5,498 100ml

 

The Body Shop Vitamin E Moisture Cream

An easily absorbed daily moisturizing cream that has the lightness of a lotion with the moisturizing benefits of a cream. It helps protect the skin, leaving it feeling soft, smooth and healthy looking.

Though I have combination to oily skin on my face, the skin on my arms, hands, lower legs and feet are on the dry side. That’s why I can never go a day without lotion, putting more emphasis on my hands as I’m a frequent hand-washer. 😀 I’m currently in love with my St. Ives Oatmeal & Shea Butter lotion, so we’ll see if this moisture cream from The Body Shop will make me switch.

Glamourbox February 2013 - The Body Shop Moisture Cream

Price: Php 695 50ml – We got 3 samples.

 

Snoe Oil for All Argan Oil

Argan Oil has been gaining recognition for its restorative and anti-aging benefits to skin and hair. High in Vitamin E, this “Liquid Gold” heals dry skin, prevents acne breakouts and reduces marks and fine lines.

I’ve had issues with breakouts a few months ago and I somehow found a face routine that helped me get rid of them. My face is starting to completely clear out of blemishes, so I’m holding off on using this one.

Glamourbox February 2013 - Snoe Oil for All Argan Oil

I’ve wanted to try Snoe products for months now, so I hope they include some of their makeup items in the next months.

Price: Php 799 for 25ml – We received a small sample bottle. Not sure how much is in it as there’s no label.

 

Carmex Moisturising Lip Balm

Carmex Squeeze Tube / Jar contains natural moisturizers such as cocoa butter and lanolin. These and other emollients give you healthy-looking lips by moistening and preventing chapping caused by the environment.

Dry lips is another one of my problems because I used to chain-smoke and drink coffee excessively. I’ve heard of good things about Carmex. However, I don’t think I’ll be switching to this from my trusty, inexpensive petroleum jelly, which has worked wonders for my lips. 😀

Glamourbox February 2013 - Carmex Moisturising Lip Balm

I liked the smell and the feel on my lips of this lip balm, but I was taken aback by the cooling effect I felt after a few seconds. My bro quickly took the jar from me ’cause he had it worse when it comes to chapped lips – now, I’m thinking it’s genetics. We’ll see how this will work on him.

Price: Php 109.75 for 10g tube or 7.5g jar – I got the full size jar.

 

Kerastase Fluide Oleo Relax

A leave-in that gives a natural smooth finish to dry, frizzy hair. It offers long-lasting smoothness and shine, leaving hair silky and soft to the touch.

Glamourbox February 2013 - Kerastase Nutritive Oleo Relax Leave-inIf you check the description on the bottle, it says this leave-in is for “dry and rebellious hair”. That’s exactly how I’ll describe my hair condition. 😀

I’ve recently had my hair colored, so this came at the perfect time. I think Tony & Jackey (where I had my hair dyed) uses the same product on their clients, so I’m looking forward to seeing the effect of this leave-in on my hair.

I’ve tried it twice since I got this. At first, I thought it’ll give my hair that oily, sticky finish that I hate when using leave-in conditioners. Well, it didn’t. I love how smooth it made my hair, making it easy for me to quickly run my fingers through it. 😉 Pang-shampoo commercial lang. 😀

This is the only item in the February Glamourbox that I’m really digging or I’ll actually use and buy a full-sized bottle of after I’ve used up the sample I got.

Price: Php 1,536 for 150ml – I got the 50ml bottle, which is priced at Php 512.

 

Total Value:

Now, let’s compute the total price of the products I received:

  • Kerastase Oleo Relax – Php 512
  • Carmex Lip Balm – Php 109.75
  • Snoe Oil for All Argain Oil – Php 160 (rounded up) – I’m guessing we got a 5ml sample.
  • KJI & Co Emergency Lash Rx – Php 1,350

Not counting the other samples – The Body Shop Moisture Cream and Calvin Klein Beauty – the items above are already priced at Php 2,000+.

Considering the items I’ll actually use – Kerastase and Carmex Jar (for my bro) – Php 621.75. I would’ve been completely disheartened if it wasn’t for the Kerastase leave-in.

I’m currently subscribed monthly (automatic payments) and I don’t think this month’s box will make me unsubscribe. The concept of beauty subscription boxes just started at the later part of last year, so it might catch on finally with entrepreneurs and beauty brands. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

However, I’m already thinking of trying out the other boxes, particularly BDJ. I’ve already tried Sample Room, but I have yet to write a review here. We’ll see.

 

My Wishlist:

For the coming months, I’m wishing they’ll include the following:

  • An eye cream to cure my deep, dark bags under my eyes
  • Makeup remover (I’m using Etude House)
  • Foundation or powder
  • Eyeliner
  • Nail polishes!

What do you think of the February 2013 Glamourbox? Sound off at the comments section! 🙂

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
  • Still haven’t subscribed to any beauty box, but I heard Glamourbox is the best by far.Not too impressed with this month’s contents, pero pwede na. 🙂

    • Right. Pwede na. 🙂
      They’re the most popular beauty box from what I’m seeing, so I believe more brands/businesses in the beauty industry will partner with them. Crossing my fingers!

  • I was planning on tryin out BDJ but this Glamour box looks super worth it.

    • I’m really tempted to try out BDJ for March, but yeah. I love Glamourbox despite my disappointment for Feb.

      • Jasman

        The BDJ is slightly more customized because they base the contents on the quiz that you take to assess your profile.. 🙂 I’ve ordered 2 BDJ boxes and so far I’ve been quite pleased with the contents.. 🙂

        • I’ve actually subscribed to BDJ this week. Too bad I didn’t make it to their March box. Oh well.

          I love the beauty quiz! 🙂 Can’t wait to receive my first BDJ box.

  • I was looking forward to gettin a Kerastese leave-in but nadah. none in my box. Sad. I should’ve stuck with BDJ.

    • I saw nga that there were boxes without Kerastese leave-in. 🙁

  • I have read good reviews regarding this boxes and i have to try it but not so sure what to get, the glamourbox or the saladbox but still thinking about it because i’m not good with surprises, 🙂

    • I would recommend either go with Glamourbox or BDJ.

  • havent tried subscribing to beauty boxes. is it worth it? im wondering cause some of the items in the box are things I wont actually use. :/

    • I’m on my second month with Glamourbox and I’m fine with the items I’ve been receiving even though there are many things I don’t really need. That’s why I compute the value of the products in the boxes that I’ll actually use. So far, I’ve gotten my money’s worth – I think. LOL

  • Oh! The Kerastase sample is super worth it. Value wise shoot pa rin sila sa approximately P2k per box for the past few months but yun nga, romantic made me think of make-up too particularly lipstick!

    • Right!! I thought there’ll be like a luscious lipstick or something. Hehehe. Pero yeah, value-wise, mas mahal pa rin sa binayad ko. 🙂

  • wow! I love glamourbox’s goodies! 🙂 I tried working with them before but now I stopped na rin cause I don’t have much time to do product reviews 🙁

  • I’m not subscribed in any of these beauty boxes. Still not sure if I can actually use all of the contents. But I love to get samples of fragrances. =)

    • I love the element of surprise, but yes, there’s a risk of no usable items in the box. I’m on my second month, so probably on my 6th month, I’ll decide if I’ll cancel. So far, I’m fine with what I’m getting since this is a really good way to discover new products. 🙂

      • Yeah, and you’te getting plenty of materials to review esp. if you’re a beauty blogger.

        • Right! I wish I have the time to review all of them though. 😀
          I still have products from early last year that I haven’t blogged about yet.

          (By the way, for some reason, I can’t reply to your response to my comment on your post.)